GC Schools Logo

Excellence in teaching was recognized by the Giles County Board of Education when they were presented the Teachers of the Year. In an unprecedented twist, the announcements were made during an online Zoom meeting.

The District-Level Teachers of the Year are Tammy Edwards of Richland Elementary School for the Pre-K to fourth grade division, Stephanie Miller from Minor Hill School for the fifth-eighth grade division, and Leigh Anne Bailey of Richland School for the ninth-12th grade division.

Building Level Teachers of the Year were also named. Southside Elementary School recognized Kim Gowan (Pre-K to fourth) and Dawn Lugert (fifth-eighth). Minor Hill School Teachers of the year were Becky Murray (Pre-K to fourth) and Stephanie Miller (fifth-eighth). Richland Elementary named Tammy Edwards (Pre-K-fourth) and Alicia Perkins (fifth-eighth). Richland School honored Beth Hall (fifth-eighth) and Leigh Anne Bailey (ninth-12th). Elkton School recipients were Mary Beth Barrett (Pre-K-fourth) and Teri Mize (fifth-eighth). Shannon Neely for Pulaski Elementary, Lori Herd for Bridgeforth Middle School and Darryl Campbell for Giles County High School were also named as honorees.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.