GC Schools Logo

The Giles County Board of Education this month recognized a group of dedicated teachers by granting them tenure.

The educators receiving tenure this year are Kala Cherry from Bridgeforth Middle School, Dana Pierce and Kayla Coble from Elkton Elementary School, Rebecca Conner and Andrea Birdsong from Giles County High School, Kimberly Langley and Shelby Oliver from Pulaski Elementary School, Rebecca Johns from Richland Elementary School, and Matthew Baxter and Javis Olson from Richland School.

To be eligible for tenure, an educator must serve in the schools for five years and, according to state law, “receive evaluations demonstrating an overall performance effectiveness level of ‘above expectations’ or ‘significantly above expectations.’” This score combines qualitative measures, growth and achievement.

According to the Tennessee Education Association, “Tenure is designed to ensure due process on discipline or dismissal, protecting a teacher for failing a star athlete or providing a hearing on questionable claims made by an unreasonable parent. Tenured teachers enjoy continuing employment, and are not at-risk for non-renewal — they can only be dismissed for cause.”

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.